- BuildingDesign News - Construction / Services News Archives

Article Date: 17th February 2017

Wienerberger Brick Award 2018: Call for Entries

Brick Award 2018 - Brick Architecture - Clay Facing Bricks

Wienerberger Brick Award 2018

As a way of recognising outstanding brick projects from around the world, Wienerberger is inviting architects, architecture critics and journalists alike to enter projects into its Brick Award 2018. Entries are now open and are set to close on 20th April 2017.

Initiated in 2004, the Wienerberger Brick Award is a biannual architectural award presented to outstanding examples of modern and innovative brick architecture. In 2018, Wienerberger will present this internationally recognised award for the eighth time and is now calling for entries. Project submissions can be made via an online submission tool. In 2016, the awards reached a record of more than 600 project entries from 55 countries.

The Brick Award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for one Grand Prize Winner (including. Category Winner) and 5,000 Euros for each of the four other Category Winners.

The award comprises five categories:

  • Feeling at home
  • Living together
  • Working together
  • Sharing public spaces
  • Building outside the box

The last category welcomes entries from those using bricks innovatively. These projects might make use of new construction technologies or include custom-made bricks and new ornamentation. Ceramic products should play a significant role in the submitted project; this could range from clay blocks and facing bricks to clay tiles and clay pavers. The use of Wienerberger products is not a necessary condition of participation. Special attention will be directed to how the project combines functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. An additional criterion is that the project was completed in 2014 or later to ensure topicality.

After the submission period ends on the 20th April 2017, a panel of architecture journalists and critics will narrow down the number of entries to 50 nominated projects for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018. These nominations will be published in Brick18 – a stunning coffee-table book of curated brickwork projects. Subsequently, an international jury of architects will select the five winners in each of the categories as well as the Grand Prize winner.

The official Brick Award ceremony will take place in Vienna in spring 2018 where the Brick18 book, including all 50 nominated projects, will be published.

We are looking forward to your submissions! Please use the email option below for further information:

BuildingDesign Media © - BuildingDesign Directory | BuildingDesign Tenders